



Media Contact: Maria Velasquez, Vice President Community Relations & Communications

619-578-7560 mariav@sdhc.org

THIRTY-YEAR CORPORATE EXECUTIVE FRANCISCO "FRANK" J. URTASUN JOINS BOARD OF THE SAN DIEGO HOUSING COMMISSION

San Diego, CA—Francisco "Frank" J. Urtasun, a San Diego Gas & Electric Co. executive who previously served as chairman of the San Diego Unified Port District Board of Commissioners, has been appointed to the San Diego Housing Commission (SDHC) board.

Urtasun's appointment by San Diego Mayor Jerry Sanders was confirmed on a unanimous vote of the San Diego City Council on Tuesday, November 13.

The seven-member SDHC board reviews proposed housing policy, property acquisitions, operating budget and other financial commitments. The SDHC board offers policy guidance to the SDHC staff through its communications with the president and chief executive officer, Richard C. Gentry.

Urtasun is Regional Vice President of External Relations for San Diego Gas & Electric Company. During a 30-year career with SDG&E and its parent company, Sempra Energy, he has held several management positions.

He was chairman of the San Diego Unified Port District during 1994 and 2001, during nearly 10 years of service on the Port District board. He also has served on the boards of San Diego Convention & Visitors Bureau, the San Diego County Planning Commission, the San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce, Sharp Coronado Hospital, San Diego Dialogue, St. Augustine High School and the San Diego County Cable Television Review Commission.

He currently serves on the Board of Directors of the 2015 Balboa Park Centennial Celebration Committee, LISC San Diego and the Downtown San Diego Partnership.

Prior to his Sempra Energy career, he worked in the construction industry, building single-family and multi-family projects of his own.

Urtasun is a graduate of Southwestern College and San Diego State University (SDSU). In 1997, he was named as 100 of SDSU's "Top 100" Graduates.

A resident of Coronado, Urtasun will complete the term previously held by Sam Guillen, who recently resigned. The term of Mr. Urtasun ends January 2, 2015.