Governance & Legislative Affairs

Established in 1979, the San Diego Housing Commission (SDHC) is governed by the San Diego City Council (City Council), sitting as the Housing Authority of the City of San Diego (Housing Authority).

SDHC President & CEO Richard C. Gentry is the Executive Director of the Housing Authority.

The Housing Authority has final authority over SDHC’s budget and major policy decisions.

A seven-member Board of Commissioners oversees SDHC’s operations and makes recommendations to the Housing Authority.

The Mayor appoints Commissioners, who are confirmed by the City Council.

SDHC also engages in dynamic dialogue with both government and elected officials regarding legislative and regulatory matters as they relate to affordable housing and homelessness.

Mayor, City of San Diego

Mayor Kevin L. Faulconer

Housing Authority of the City of San Diego

City Council President Myrtle Cole, District 4
City Council President Pro Tem Barbara Bry, District 1
Councilmember Lorie Zapf, District 2
Councilmember Chris Ward, District 3
Councilmember Mark Kersey, District 5
Councilmember Chris Cate, District 6
Councilmember Scott Sherman, District 7
Councilmember David Alvarez, District 8
Councilmember Georgette Gómez, District 9

SDHC Board of Commissioners:

Chair Frank Urtasun
Vice Chair Stefanie Benvenuto
Commissioner Ryan Clumpner
Commissioner Margaret Davis
Commissioner Johanna Puno Hester
Commissioner Kellee Hubbard
Commissioner Tim Walsh

San Diego Housing Commission Meetings

SDHC Board of Commissioners
Friday, November 30, 2018, at 9:00 a.m.
1122 Broadway, 4th Floor​​​​​​​

Listen to the Streaming audio

Housing Authority of the
City of San Diego Meetings

Tuesday, November 13, 2018, at 2:00 p.m.
202 C Street, 12th Floor

Watch the Video

Let's get you there…

I am looking for…